Jeff Beck takes a turn toward the topical on Loud Hailer, the guitarist's first new studio album in six years. Due on July 15, Loud Hailer arrives alongside a new book titled BECK01, a tour with Buddy Guy and a special career-spanning concert at the Hollywood Bowl.

The album title is another name for a megaphone, which Beck says is fitting. "I really wanted to make a statement about some of the nasty things I see going on in the world today," Beck says. "And I loved the idea of being at a rally and using this loud device to shout my point of view."

Beck collaborated with Rosie Bones and Carmen Vandenberg on Loud Hailer. Beck's last original studio album was 2010's Emotion and Commotion, though he's released five concert recordings dating back to 2008. He also released a new song, titled "Tribal," last year. The first single from Loud Hailer will be "Live in the Dark." You can see a complete track listing for the album below.

Beck says he met Vandenberg last year at a birthday party for Queen drummer Roger Taylor, and the new album almost immediately began to take shape. "She invited me to one of their shows, and I was blown away," Beck says. "When we got together in January, I explained the subject matter I had in mind, we sat down by the fire with a crate of Prosecco [wine] and got right to it. The songs came together very quickly, five in three days."

Jeff Beck, 'Loud Hailer' Track Listing
"The Revolution Will Be Televised"
"Live in the Dark"
"Pull It"
"Thugs Club"
"Scared for the Children"
"Right Now"
"The Ballad of the Jersey Wives"

See Jeff Beck in the Top 100 Rock Albums of the '60s

More From Ultimate Classic Rock