The Rolling Stones' brief foray into psychedelia will soon be getting a fresh look. On Sept. 22, the band will release a 50th Anniversary Edition of its 1967 album Their Satanic Majesties Request.

You can watch an unboxing video of the set above. It contains the stereo and mono mixes, remastered by Bob Ludwig, on both 180-gram vinyl and Hybrid SACD. Michael Cooper's original lenticular cover artwork, which includes the Beatles' heads popping out of flowers, has been restored after having been shelved decades ago. There are also many more photographs from the sessions Cooper did with the band.

Their Satanic Majesties Request should be recognized as an important stepping stone in the Rolling Stones’ development from an R&B-inspired band to the inventors of modern rock for the 1970s,” Rob Bowman writes in the 20-page book that's also included in the set.

Featuring “2000 Light Years From Home” and “She’s a Rainbow,” as well as string arrangements by future Led Zeppelin bassist John Paul Jones, Their Satanic Majesties Request was considered to be the Stones' answer to the Beatles' Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band. But the group was going through a difficult phase, with Mick Jagger, Keith Richards and Brian Jones all dealing with a drug bust, and producer Andrew Loog Oldham quitting during the sessions.

Even though it wasn't a critical favorite, the album has its supporters, including Gene Simmons of Kiss, who praised its sense of adventure. Still, as Stones drummer Charlie Watts recalled in a press release, “The sessions were a lot of fun because you could do anything. It was so druggy -- acid and all that.”

You can pre-order the 50th Anniversary Edition of Their Satanic Majesties Request at Amazon or Universal.

The Rolling Stones, 'Their Satanic Majesties Request' Track Listing (Stereo and Mono Mixes)
1. "Sing This All Together"
2. "Citadel"
3. "In Another Land"
4. "2000 Man"
5. "Sing This All Together (See What Happens)"
6. "She’s a Rainbow"
7. "The Lantern"
8. "Gomper"
9. "2000 Light Years from Home"
10. "On With the Show"

Rolling Stones Compilations Ranked Worst to Best

More From Ultimate Classic Rock