A long-unheard collection of acoustic studio performances from Neil Young is scheduled to finally make its way out of the vault and into stores this summer.

Titled Hitchhiker, the 10-track set was tracked in a single session on Aug. 11, 1976, and finds Young running through a number of favorites — as well as a pair of previously unreleased performances, "Hawaii" (described in a press release as "a soaring ballad ... unlike anything else Young had recorded at the time") and "God Give Me Strength," which was "occasionally performed live in the mid-'70s but [is] now available here for the first time."

The album is due on Sept. 8.

Originally recorded by producer David Briggs, the album captures Young performing with just his voice and a single acoustic guitar; according to the press release announcing the Hitchhiker LP, the two men were the only ones in the room during the session. To prep them for release, the tapes were given a post-production pass by longtime associate John Hanlon, who's been at the boards for a number of Young's recent efforts.

Hitchhiker arrives less than a year after Young's most recent studio release, Peace Trail, and follows reports that the ever-prolific artist has been seen in the studio with rapper D.R.A.M. He also released a new song, "Children of Destiny," with the Promise of the Real last week. No word yet whether the album will be available on Young's recently announced new hi-def digital audio service, Xstream.

Neil Young, 'Hitchhiker' Track Listing
"Captain Kennedy"
"Give Me Strength"
"Ride My Llama"
"Human Highway"
"The Old Country Waltz"

Neil Young Albums Ranked Worst to Best

More From Ultimate Classic Rock