Kiss braved 102-degree heat to celebrate America's birthday by kicking off their Freedom to Rock tour last night with a 16-song set in Tucson, Ariz.

"Tonight's the first night of the tour, and it couldn't be any place hotter or any place cooler," frontman Paul Stanley told the crowd. As you can see in the video above, the group kicked off the show with "Detroit Rock City," performing on a stage dominated by massive video screens and enough fireballs to make one wonder how their trademark face paint could possibly survive the night.

In addition to the expected parade of hits, the band brought back a few songs we didn't see them play on its2014 40th anniversary tour, including "Beth," Tommy Thayer singing "Shock Me" and, best of all, "100,000 Years," which you can watch below.

As has been recent tradition, Kiss also honored the military by having a veteran – in this case, Lt. Col. Mellorya Crawford, according to – join their road crew for the night. "It's not the politicians that make the country great, it's the military," Stanley stated. "Politicians make promises. The military delivers."

Kiss' Freedom to Rock tour moves to Boise, Idaho, tomorrow, and continues throughout the summer, with the final date currently scheduled for Sept. 10 in Huntington, W.V.. You can get all the latest tour and ticket information at

Watch Kiss Perform '100,000 Years,' July 4, 2016

Kiss 'Freedom To Rock' Tour Kickoff Set List, July 4, 2016
1. "Detroit Rock City"
2. "Deuce"
3. "Shout It Out Loud"
4. "Creatures of the Night"
5. "War Machine"
6. "Psycho Circus"
7. "Calling Dr. Love"
8. "Shock Me"
9. "Cold Gin"
10. "Lick It Up"
11. "I Love It Loud"
12. "100,000 Years"
13. "Love Gun"
14. "Black Diamond"
15. "Beth"
16. "Rock and Roll All Nite"

Gene Simmons, Movie Star: Exploring the Demon's Film Career

More From Ultimate Classic Rock