Elton John first live album, 11-17-70 (known as 17-11-70 in the U.K.), provided a major boost to the young singer-songwriter's career. Now he's releasing an expanded double-LP version of it for Record Store Day, which will be held on April 22.

11-17-70+ adds six previously songs from the performance at A&R Recording Studios in New York City, and "Amoreena," which was included on a mid-'90s reissue, gets its first appearance on vinyl. It was remastered by Bob Ludwig and pressed onto two 180-gram discs.

"The album 17-11-70 was not meant to be a live one at all," he said in a press release on his website. "We did one of the first ever stereo radio broadcasts live at A&R Recording Studios in New York City in 1970 on the 17th of November. It was Phil Ramone’s studio, one of the greatest producers of all time, and we just went in the booth and played it as a three-piece: Nigel Olsson on drums and vocals, Dee Murray on bass and vocals, and myself. There was a studio audience of about 100 sitting outside the booth, hearing it coming through the loud speakers, and we just played. I’m astonished by how good we were, listening to this record. It wasn’t initially coming out as a live album, but there were so many bootlegs in those days that the record company put it out. I’m glad they did because it really is something I’m very very proud of."

In honor of the 10th anniversary of Record Store Day, John has been named as the worldwide Record Store Day Legend. He spoke of his lifelong love of vinyl in the video above, where he can still recall the first singles he ever bought, "At the Hop" by Danny and the Juniors and "Reet Petite" by Jackie Wilson, and says he still buys five or six records a week.

"I love record stores," he said. "I can go to the record store in Vegas and spend three hours in there. Just the smell of it, the looking at it, the wonder of it, the memories. ... I love vinyl so much ... the tactile nature, the ritual of it, looking at the sleeve ... especially with the old albums and the liner notes – who played on them, the process of putting it on, the needle going on and the sound coming out. And it DOES sound better, I know it does! It’s just the wonder of having vinyl."

Elton John, '11.17.70+' Track Listing

Side A

1. "Take Me to the Pilot
2. "Honky Tonk Women"
3. "Sixty Years On"
4. "Can I Put You On"

Side B

1. "Bad Side of the Moon"
2. "Burn Down the Mission" (Incl. "My Baby Left Me" / "Get Back")

Side C

1. "Indian Sunset"*
2. "Amoreena"**
3. "Your Song"*

Side D

1. "Country Comfort"*
2. "I Need You to Turn To"*
3. "Border Song"*
4. "My Father’s Gun"*

* Previously unreleased bonus track
** Newly remixed bonus track

Elton John Albums Ranked Worst to Best

More From Ultimate Classic Rock