Chickenfoot has announced the tracklisting for their upcoming sophomore album 'Chickenfoot III,' which will be released on Sept. 27.  The band promises both stadium-ready rockers and songs featuring more sophisticated subject matter on the new album.

Singer Sammy Hagar once again explains that the album's name isn't a joke, but rather a reflection of the progress the band has made since their self-titled debut was released in 2009. As he explains: “We're calling the album "Chickenfoot III" because it's so good, the songs are so tight, it's like we jumped right past having to make a second record.” (In fact, they almost called it 'IV.')

He also states that the songwriting partnership between himself and guitarist Joe Satriani has reached a higher level this time out: “We’ve established a real trust, Joe and I, we truly bring out the best in one another, and that spreads to the whole band.”  Heavy subject matter such as mortality ("Up Next") and global economic issues ("Three and a Half Letters") pops up within the album's lyrics.

In a break from their traditional working methods, the song "Come Closer” found Hagar writing the words first, with guitarist Satriani then composing music to suit the lyrics. Michael Anthony revealed in our exclusive interview with him that Hagar's work on 'Different Devil' helped make the track one of the bassist's favorite songs on the album.

The first single from 'Chickenfoot III,' the stomping 'Big Foot,' will be released on Aug. 2. So far there's no word on any tour plans from the band, which also features former Van Halen bassist Michael Anthony and Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith.

(You know, here's a stray thought: Van Halen's most recent album was also called 'III.')

'Chickenfoot III' Track Listing:

1. 'Last Temptation'
2. 'Alright, Alright'
3. 'Different Devil'
4. 'Up Next'
5. 'Lighten Up'
6. 'Come Closer'
7. 'Three and a Half Letters'
8. 'Big Foot'
9. 'Dubai Blues'
10. 'Something Going Wrong'


More From Ultimate Classic Rock