Legendary blues rockers ZZ Top are set to release a new album titled 'La Futura' on Sept. 11 through American Recordings, the group announced today.

ZZ Top guitarist Billy Gibbons produced the album --  the group's first in nine years -- with Rick Rubin. The Texas-based trio, who are currently celebrating 42 years with the same lineup of Gibbons, bassist/vocalist Dusty Hill and drummer Frank Beard, returned to their roots for the new tracks, but with a new twist.

“We thought long and hard about what this album should be,” Gibbons says in a press release. “We wanted to recall the directness of our early stuff but not turn our backs on contemporary technology. The result of this melding of the past and the present is, of course, 'La Futura.'"

Four of the new tracks  - 'I Gotsta Get Paid,' 'Chartreuse,' 'Consumption' and 'Over You'  -  debuted last month as an iTunes-only collection titled 'Texicali,' which met with strong sales and glowing reviews. Music Radar summed up the tunes as "ZZ Top crankin' up some fresh, vital roadhouse blues."

Another track, 'Flyin' High," appropriately made its world premiere in space. The then-unfinished song played on board the Soyuz spacecraft during its launch to the International Space Station thirteen months ago at the request of NASA Astronaut Mike Fossum, a long-time ZZ Top fan and friend who had heard about it in talking with Dusty Hill.

ZZ Top are currently on a European tour that will take them to Russia, Finland, Sweden, Denmark, Belgium, France, Switzerland and Norway. They will return stateside to jump start the release of 'La Futura' with a rare performance at the Beacon Theatre in New York City before embarking on a North American tour.

ZZ Top 'La Futura' Track Listing:

1. 'I Gotsta Get Paid'
2. 'Chartreuse'
3. 'Consumption'
4. 'Over You'
5. 'Heartache in Blue'
6. 'I Don’t Wanna Lose, Lose, You'
7. 'Flyin’ High'
8. 'It’s Too Easy Manana'
9. 'Big Shiny Nine'
10. 'Have a Little Mercy'

More From Ultimate Classic Rock