May 19 will see the release of 'Evolutionary,' the first album in 20 years by War, the legendary L.A. funk-rock-Latin band that scored the '70s with hits like 'Low Rider,' 'Why Can't We Be Friends?' and 'The Cisco Kid.' We are pleased to present the exclusive premiere of one of the album's songs, 'Mamacita,' which can be streamed below.

'Mamacita' features a funky, chicken-scratch guitar-driven groove underpinned by lots of percussion and a Clavinet. The song is a tribute to their roots as Latinos on the streets of Hollywood. Joe Walsh stops by to contribute some lead guitar, and the Tower of Power horn section give the song a nice dose of Oakland muscle.

'Evolutionary''s 12 tracks find the group's trademark laid-back grooves updated for a modern sound, with a few guests. In addition to Walsh and Tower of Power on 'Mamacita,' there are guest raps by Malik Yusef and on a few songs and the USC Trojan Marching Band show up on 'War / War After War (A Soldier's Story),' which recast's Edwin Starr's classic Motown hit. A bonus track reprises the opener, 'That L.A. Sunshine,' with some help from their old buddies Cheech and Chong. The album will be packaged with a remastered version of their 1976 'Greatest Hits' compilation, which has never been released on CD. The set can be pre-ordered at both Amazon and iTunes.

War got their start in 1969 with a sound that reflected the diverse cultures of Los Angeles. After backing Eric Burdon on the hit, 'Spill the Wine,' they struck out on their own, selling millions of records and charting 11 Top 10 hits.

'Evolutionary' Track Listing

1. 'That L.A. Sunshine'
2. 'Mamacita'
3. 'It's Our Right / Funky Tonk'
4. 'Just Like Us'
5. 'Inspiration'
6. 'Scream Stream'
7. 'This Funky Music'
8. 'Outer Space'
9. 'War / War After War (A Soldier's Story)'
10. 'Bounce'
11. 'Everything'
12. 'It’s My Life'
13. 'That L.A. Sunshine (featuring Cheech & Chong)' (bonus track)

'Greatest Hits' Track Listing

1. 'All Day Music'
2. 'Slippin' Into Darkness'
3. 'The World Is A Ghetto'
4. 'The Cisco Kid'
5. 'Gypsy Man'
6. 'Me And Baby Brother'
7. 'Southern Part Of Texas'
8. 'Why Can't We Be Friends?'
9. 'Low Rider'
10. 'Summer'

More From Ultimate Classic Rock