Back in March, legendary guitarist Steve Vai announced that he was preparing a 25th anniversary edition of his groundbreaking album, Passion and Warfare, that contained an entire CD of unreleased material called Modern Primitive. Today (May 19), he revealed more information on the record, including the release date of June 24.

Modern Primitive contains 13 tracks recorded between 1984, after the release of his debut Flex-Able, and the 1990 arrival of Passion and Warfare. "The music on Flex-Able is so vastly different from Passion and Warfare, one could wonder if the same guy actually made both records," He wrote in the liner notes. "Modern Primitive is the missing link between these two records. It's sort of Cro-Magnon Vai."

The two-CD set is packaged in a four-panel soft-pack with a 20-page booklet for Modern Primitive and a 24-panel poster fold for Passion and Warfare. Guitar World has a preview of one of the unreleased cuts, "Lovely Elixir." The CDs can be pre-ordered at Amazon. Vai is also putting out this special version of Passion and Warfare in a two-LP, clear 180-gram vinyl package. The bonus tracks make up the entire fourth side, and you can pre-order it at Friday Music.

Beginning May 28, Vai will begin a world tour in support of the anniversary edition in which he'll be playing Passion and Warfare in its entirety. "Performing this record from top to bottom (with some very special surprises in the works) is something I've always dreamed of doing," Vai said in a press release. "There are songs here I've never performed before, and I'm delighted that 25 years after its release, I feel as though my guitar chops are as much up to the task as ever before."

'Modern Primitive' Track Listing

1. "Bop!"
2. "Dark Matter"
3. "Mighty Messengers"
4. "The Lost Chord"
5. "Upanishads"
6. "Fast Note People"
7. "And We Are One"
8. "Never Forever"
9. "Lights Are On"
10. "No Pockets"
11. "Pink and Blows Over: Part 1"
12. "Pink and Blows Over: Part 2 (Mars Attack)"
13. "Pink and Blows Over: Part 3 (Jazzbo Paddle-foot)"

'Passion and Warfare 25th Anniversary Edition' Track Listing

1. "Liberty"
2. "Erotic Nightmares"
3. "The Animal"
4. "Answers"
5. "The Riddle"
6. "Ballerina 12/24"
7. "For the Love of God"
8. "The Audience Is Listening"
9. "I Would Love To"
10. "Blue Powder"
11. "Greasy Kid's Stuff"
12. "Alien Water Kiss"
13. "Sisters"
14. "Love Secrets"
15. "Lovely Elixir"
16. "And We Are One (Solo #2)"
17. "As Above"
18. "So Below"

See the Top 100 Rock Albums of the '90s

More From Ultimate Classic Rock