Joel Hoekstra, who joined Whitesnake last year, is set to put out a new album with a band made up of ringers. The record, 'Dying to Live,' will be released on Oct. 16 and credited to Joel Hoekstra's 13.

"Years ago, I released three solo albums that were mainly instrumental guitar music," Hoekstra says in a press release. "I wanted to put something out that showcased my production, writing and playing in the genre that I'm known for, which is melodic hard rock. That's when I decided to start what I consider to be my rock side project. 'Dying to Live' focuses on struggles, potential pitfalls and the art of overcoming obstacles in life to finally arrive where we are meant to be."

Hoekstra recorded the album with Jeff Scott Soto (Journey, Yngwie Malmsteen) and Russell Allen (Adrenaline Mob) on vocals, bassist Tony Franklin (the Firm) and Vinny Appice (Dio) on drums. You can hear Hoekstra talking about how the band came together, and listen to clips of some of the new songs, in the video above.

As for his Whitesnake gig, Hoekstra said he has David Coverdale's seal of approval: "David wants his players to spread their wings and fly and of course be ready to rock when Whitesnake needs them, which obviously won't be an issue."

Eleven months ago, Hoekstra left Night Ranger, with whom he's played since 2008, for Whitesnake following the departure of Doug Aldrich. This marks the second new solo album by someone from the Whitesnake family. Last year, Bernie Marsden, who was in the group during their most commercially successful period, released Shine.

Joel Hoekstra's 13's 'Dying to Live' Track Listing
1. Say Goodbye To The Sun
2. Anymore
3. Until I Left You
4. Long for the Days
5. Scream
6. Never Say Never
7. Changes
8. The Only Way to Go
9. Dying to Live
10. Start Again
11. What We Believe
12. Kill or Be Killed (bonus track digital download)

See Whitesnake's 'Lovehunter' and Others on Our List of Nude Album Covers

You Think You Know Journey?

More From Ultimate Classic Rock