Def Leppard's Joe Elliott will produce the sophomore record by Black Star Riders, a band featuring former members of Thin Lizzy. Elliott previously worked on the 2011 reissue of Thin Lizzy's 1976 classic 'Jailbreak' album. The Def Leppard singer also produced the first two solo albums by Black Star Riders' Ricky Warwick, who joined Thin Lizzy as vocalist in 2010. 

According to Brave Words, Def Leppard producer Ronan McHugh will also work on the as-yet-unnamed Black Star Riders album, which follows last year's 'All Hell Breaks Loose.' McHugh has collaborated with Def Leppard since 2008's 'Songs From the Sparkle Lounge.'

"Joe Elliott's passion, enthusiasm for music -- as a fan, artist and friend -- is unquestionable, and Ronan McHugh is a phenomenal engineer," Warwick said. "Personally having worked with these guys before, it was a no-brainer when they said they would like to produce the new BSR album. We are confident that this will be a huge leap forward in the evolution of BSR."

Black Star Riders also includes guitarists Scott Gorham and Damon Johnson, bassist Marco Mendoza and drummer Jimmy DeGrasso. Gorham's tenure with Thin Lizzy goes back to 1974, Mendoza has been with the group since 1996 and Johnson joined in 2011. DeGrasso linked up with Black Star Riders after stints with David Lee Roth and Ozzy Osbourne. He's also played with Dokken.

More From Ultimate Classic Rock