Def Leppard have unveiled the first song for their new album, "Let's Go." Built around an inspirational lyric, the mid-tempo anthem sets the stage for Def Leppard's forthcoming self-titled project, their first since 2008's Songs from the Sparkle Lounge. You can listen to it above.

Frontman Joe Elliott says "Let's Go" favorably compares with Def Leppard's classic era and even links it to one of the biggest comeback stories in the history of rock.

"It has that swaggering, mid-tempo rhythm, like '[Pour Some] Sugar [on Me]' and 'Rock of Ages,'" he tells Rolling Stone. "The idea was, we wanted something familiar. I mean, when AC/DC comes back after years away, you're not going to get 'Bohemian Rhapsody' from 'em, you know? And you don't want it, either. You want 'Back in Black,' or something like it. For us, this is what we do. And it's something we enjoy doing."

Def Leppard, due later this fall, will boast a total of 14 tracks, as shown in a photo Elliott posted to the groups's Instagram account. A precise release date, however, remains unconfirmed. Amazon in the U.S. lists Oct. 30 in pre-release information. Mailboat Records, the band's American distributor, hasn't released any details yet.

"Let's Go" was principally composed by founding bassist Rick Savage, with an assist on the verses from Elliott. "It's a call to arms, you know?" Elliott said. "He came in with it, and we knew it was a classic Def Leppard song. It's that three-minute pop-rock stuff with big chunky guitars and a big chorus."

Def Leppard Albums Ranked Worst to Best

You Think You Know Def Leppard?

More From Ultimate Classic Rock