It's been more than forty years since a career-igniting performance at the Woodstock festival launched Carlos Santana's reputation as a rock legend and true guitar god. Thirty-five albums later (!!!), Santana is preparing his latest disc of new material, 'Shape Shifter,' for a May 15 release on his new label, Starfaith Records.

Unlike some of his later-era successes, 'Shape Shifter' focuses solely on showcasing Santana's lead guitar work; out of thirteen new tracks, only one song features vocals. The album is comprised of originals written by Santana in collaboration with an assortment of artists and producers from the late '90s to the present. On the album's final two cuts, Santana collaborates with his son, Salvador Santana, who plays piano on both.

"The record is basically directed to honor the American Indians," Santana told Guitar World in February. "As you know, the people in New Zealand collectively agreed to give an apology to the Aborigines in Australia, and for me, whatever we do here in America to honor the American Indians, the Chinese, African-Americans and everybody else is a big step. So I created a CD, 'Shape Shifter,' and it's dedicated to the American Indians."

Santana's new album will debut just a few weeks after Carlos begins a two-year residency at the House Of Blues at Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas. We can only hope for more live collaborations with the Bieb. Last fall, Rolling Stone ranked Santana at No. 20 on their list of the 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time.

Here's the track listing for Santana's 'Shape Shifter':

1. Shape Shifter
2. Dom
3. Nomad
4. Metatron
5. Angelica Faith
6. Never The Same Again
7. In The Light of a New Day
8. Spark of the Divine
9. Macumba In Budapest
10. Mr. Szabo
11. Erez La Luz
12. Canula
13. Ah, Sweet Dancer

More From Ultimate Classic Rock