Paul McCartney has released the first single (and title track) from his upcoming 16th solo album, 'New.' You can listen to it above.

Produced by Mark Ronson, 'New' offers fans their first glimpse of the record we've been hearing rumblings of throughout 2013. Earlier this summer, McCartney's drummer, Abraham Laboriel, Jr., described the songs he'd been working on as incorporating "a lot of different styles. It’s very youthful -- aggressively rock at times, and singer-songwriter, insular and intimate, at others." Laboriel's comments came on the heels of an interview with Ronson, who said of McCartney, "He’s done every kind of music. He invented the rule book in several different ways. I don’t know if [our music] is revolutionary, but they’re brilliant songs. I just tried to give him a sound he was looking for."

Producer Ethan Johns, who also worked on the 'New' album, later told Rolling Stone, "The first day we had was remarkable. He walked in with this incredible song, we threw up a couple of microphones and within four hours we had this great track. I think we did an edit between the first two takes. It had an incredible feel -- a really evocative piece of music. A very interesting lyric, and the performance was great. Then we started to experiment with it, and I put a bunch of psychedelic strangeness on it. You have fun. 'Oh, try this! Do that!' It's just very inspiring to be around."

The 'New' single sums up all of McCartney's collaborators' comments in a little less than three minutes, combining a host of classic McCartney ingredients -- soaring falsetto vocals, a strutting English beat and a tasteful arrangement complemented by a few tasty production flourishes (like the harpsichord that surfaces throughout the song) -- surrounding a series of hopeful, optimistic lyrics befitting the title.

"We can do what we want, we can live as we choose," sings McCartney, "Don't look at me, it's way too soon to see / What's going to be, don't look at me / All my life I never knew what we could be what I could do / When we were new."

The 'New' album, which reportedly includes 12 songs, is due for release in the U.K. on Oct. 14, and will arrive in the U.S. the following day.

More From Ultimate Classic Rock