Monster Magnet have looked to the fairly recent past for their next effort. On Oct. 9, they will release Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux), which they're calling a "alternative listening experience" to their 2010 album Mastermind.

The approach is similar to what they did last year, when they took 2013's Last Patrol, pulled the songs apart and rebuilt them as Milking the Stars: A Re-imagining of Last Patrol. As frontman Dave Wyndorf says in a press release, "With Cobras And Fire I wanted to present these songs in a much stranger and dirtier atmosphere. Less 'classic rock' and more...well, I’d guess I’d call it a deranged fusion of garage-psych, fuzz punk and movie soundtrack music. It’s almost completely re-recorded (with the bulk of the guitar and bass playing by co-producer Phil Caivano) and as in Milking The Stars I’ve added organ, piano, sitars and more to flesh out a completely new sound for these tunes."

Of note is a cover of the Temptations' 1969 classic "Ball of Confusion" that Wyndorf says is arranged to sound like a cross between Hawkwind and the Pink Fairies and an eight-minute "tripped out sonic adventure" that was assembled by producer "Evil" Joe Barresi that they're calling "I Live Behind the Paradise Machine Evil." You can hear the first single, "Mastermind '69," over at Brooklyn Vegan.

Wyndorf notes that Cobras and Fire is "the weirdest Monster Magnet yet, and that's a good thing!"

'Cobras and Fire (The Mastermind Redux)' Track Listing:

1. "She Digs That Hole"
2. "Watch Me Fade"
3. "Mastermind ‘69"
4. "Hallucination Bomb"
5. "Gods and Punks"
6. "The Titan"
7. "When The Planes Fall From the Sky"
8. "Ball of Confusion"
9. "Time Machine"
10. "I Live Behind the Paradise Machine Evil Joe Barresi's Magnet Mash Vol.1"

See the Top 50 Heavy Metal Albums

Criminally Underrated Rock Album

More From Ultimate Classic Rock