Jimi Hendrix's post-Experience group Band of Gypsys will be the focus of a new five-CD and eight-LP box set called Songs for Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts.

The collection pulls together the four concerts that served as the world's introduction to the band. It presents the shows in their entirety, including more than two dozen tracks that have never appeared in full on commercially available recordings.

After breaking up the Experience and performing at Woodstock, Hendrix formed a new trio with drummer and singer Buddy Miles and bassist Billy Cox, whom Hendrix knew from their days in the Army.

The concerts at the legendary New York club, two sets each on New Year's Eve 1969 and New Year's Day 1970, found Band of Gypsys create a sound that veered away from the psychedelia of the Experience and more toward heavy funk and jazz.

Even though the first set consisted of newly composed material, Hendrix worked in some Experience tracks like "Hey Joe," "Purple Haze" and "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)" into later sets.

Highlights from the New Year's Day shows were released as Band of Gypsys in 1970, with some songs cut for time purposes; later compilations gathered other tracks from the Fillmore East dates.

Songs for Groovy Children, which will be released on Nov. 22, brings together all four shows, unedited and given a new mix by Hendrix's engineer Eddie Kramer. They're packaged with a book that contains liner notes by Cox and author Nelson George, as well as photos by Fillmore East house photographer Amalie Rothschild, Jan Blom and Marc Franklin, a representative for Marshall Amplifiers who was hanging out in the dressing room.

You can see a trailer for Songs for Groovy Children above and the track listing below. All pre-orders will come with an immediate download of "Message to Love" from the second set on New Year's Eve.

Jimi Hendrix, 'Songs for Groovy Children: The Fillmore East Concerts' Track Listing

Disc One -- Dec. 31, 1969, First Set
1. "Power of Soul"
2. "Lover Man"
3. "Hear My Train A Comin’"
4. "Changes"
5. "Izabella"
6. "Machine Gun"
7. "Stop"
8. "Ezy Ryder"
9. "Bleeding Heart"
10. "Earth Blues"
11. "Burning Desire"

Disc Two -- Dec. 31, 1969, Second Set
1. "Auld Lang Syne"
2. "Who Knows"
3. "Fire"
4. "Ezy Ryder"
5. "Machine Gun"
6. "Stone Free"
7. "Changes"
8. "Message to Love"
9. "Stop"
10. "Foxey Lady"

Disc Three -- Jan. 1, 1970, First Set
1. "Who Knows"
2. "Machine Gun"
3. "Changes"
4. "Power of Soul"
5. "Stepping Stone"
6. "Foxey Lady"
7. "Stop"
8. "Earth Blues"
9. "Burning Desire"

Disc Four -- Jan. 1, 1970, Second Set
1. "Stone Free"
2. "Power of Soul"
3. "Changes"
4. "Message to Love"
5. "Machine Gun"
6. "Lover Man"
7. "Steal Away"
8. "Earth Blues"

Disc Five -- Jan. 1, 1970, Second Set
1. "Voodoo Child (Slight Return)"
2. "We Gotta Live Together"
3. "Wild Thing"
4. "Hey Joe"
5. "Purple Haze"


Top 100 Albums of the '60s

More From Ultimate Classic Rock