On June 24, Foghat will release a new album, Under the Influence. It is their 17th studio record and first since 2010's Last Train Home.

The project, which took three years to come to fruition, brings together the current lineup -- founding drummer Roger Earl, singer/guitarist Charlie Huhn, lead guitarist Bryan Bassett and bassist Craig MacGregor, who has played on and off with them since 1976 -- with some important names from their past. Kim Simmonds, the guitarist of Savoy Brown, which Earl and two other men left to form Foghat, makes an appearance. Also, Nick Jameson, who played bass on "Slow Ride," sat it on a new version of their biggest hit, which celebrates the 40th anniversary of "Slow Ride."

Under the Influence was produced by Grammy-nominated Tom Hambridge, known for his work with Buddy Guy, Lynyrd Skynyrd and George Thorogood. Work began in 2013 at the band's Boogie Motel South studio in Florida, but eventually moved to Nashville's Dark Horse Studios. According to Earl, Hambridge lobbied for the gig.

"I met Tom when presenting three awards to Buddy Guy and Tom (his producer) at the Memphis Blues Awards," he said in a press release. "Tom said that he was a fan, and would love to produce a Foghat record. Putting that in the back of my mind, this was the perfect opportunity. Tom came down to Boogie Motel South to meet the band and we clicked and started writing together immediately. Working with him was inspirational!"

The group used PledgeMusic to raise funds for the recording of Under the Influence. Among the incentives offered to fans were having Earl cook you a meal or read a bedtime story to your child, a guitar lesson from Bassett and the chance to sing backup on that new version of "Slow Ride."

Foghat made a teaser video that shows them making Under the Influence at Dark Horse Studio in Nashville. It is embedded above. They are currently on the road, and you can find all their upcoming dates on their website.

'Under the Influence' Track Listing

1. "Under the Influence"
2. "Knock It Off"
3. "Ghost"
4. "She’s Got a Ring in His Nose"
5. "Upside of Lonely"
6. "Heard It Through the Grapevine"
7. "Made Up My Mind"
8. "Hot Mama"
9. "Heart Gone Cold"
10. "Honey Do List"
11. "All Because of You"
12. "Slow Ride"

The Top 100 Albums of the '70s

More From Ultimate Classic Rock