Warren Haynes has split so much of his career between the Allman Brothers Band and Gov’t Mule that he hasn’t devoted much time to his solo work. That’s about to change on July 24 with the release of Ashes and Dust, only the third record issued under his own name.

The album features songs written over the past 30 years. As Haynes explains in a press release, “I’ve been writing songs all my life from a more folky, singer-songwriter, even Celtic direction. For a while, I’ve been compiling songs that didn’t necessarily fit in with Gov’t Mule or the Allman Brothers or even my last solo album. So this record was really a chance to bring a lot of that music to fruition. It’s really given me the opportunity to take a lot of songs I love, that didn’t have a home, and build a home for them.”

To back him up on the project, Haynes brought in Railroad Earth, an Americana band from New Jersey. “We’ve known each other casually for several years,” Haynes continues, “and then at Del-Fest a few years ago, we winged a few songs together and it went really well. A little later, when I was opening the Capitol Theatre in Port Chester, N.Y., they joined me for part of the set. We did that with a little more rehearsal, more preparation, and it was a great experience. At that point, I started thinking that maybe I should make my next record with these guys.”

You can hear one of the new songs, “Spots of Time,” over at Consequence of Sound, and Ashes and Dust can be pre-ordered at Haynes’ website. Haynes will also appear on an episode of the public television series Front and Center this summer. You can watch a performance of “Is It Me or You” above.

A tour will be announced soon, but Gov’t Mule will be appearing at Mountain Jam, which will take place June 4-7 at Hunter Mountain in Hunter, N.Y. For full information, visit the festival’s website.

Warren Haynes ‘Ashes and Dust’ Track Listing

1. “Is It Me or You”
2. “Coal Tattoo”
3. “Blue Maiden’s Tale”
4. “Company Man”
5. “New Year’s Eve”
6. “Stranded in Self-Pity”
7. “Glory Road”
8. “Gold Dust Woman” (feat. Grace Potter)
9. “Beat Down the Dust”
10. “Wanderlust”
11. “Spots of Time”
12. “Hallelujah Boulevard”
13. “Word on the Wind”

Deluxe Edition Bonus CD

1. “Company Man” (demo)
2. “New Year’s Eve” (demo)
3. “Glory Road” (demo)
4. “Wanderlust” (demo)
5. “Hallelujah Boulevard” (live from 12/28/2006)

See the Allman Brothers Band and Other Rockers in the Top 100 Albums of the '90s

Warren Haynes Talks Allman Brothers

More From Ultimate Classic Rock