After making his way through some hard times, Michael Schenker has reestablished his momentum with Temple of Rock in recent years, and the band is already making big plans for 2015.

Their new album, 'Spirit on a Mission,' has been tabbed for a March 23 release, and will arrive in stores in a variety of configurations, including digital download, deluxe CD and 180-gram vinyl. Asked about the new LP's title in the press release announcing 'Spirit on a Mission,' Schenker explained, "A while ago I was asked how I wanted to be remembered, and I said ‘as a spirit on a mission, spreading the joy of music from a place of pure self-expression.'"

That self-expression had to be repeated during the 'Spirit' sessions, when four guitars and the computers containing the album's mixes were stolen from the studio. But Schenker vows the setback actually ended up improving the music.

Admitting he "got very upset about it," he countered, "Fortunately it was just performances and not compositions. We caught up and performed the music better than before. It forced us to work extra hard and longer but it made it stronger."

Schenker adds that he knew going in what he wanted the new songs to sound like, and directed the band -- which includes utility player Wayne Findlay as well as former Scorpions Herman Rarebell (drums) and Francis Buchholz (bass) behind ex-Rainbow singer Doogie White -- to help flesh out the concept.

"I already knew ahead of time that I wanted to take 'Spirit on a Mission' to the next level," he points out in the press release, saying he achieved that goal "by adding more seven-string guitar on some songs to get more of the low heavy sound, and on other songs to keep it very fast and energetic with melodic vocals and a couple of mid tempo’s with more of my writing like in my UFO days."

Fans can get their first taste of 'Spirit on a Mission' in the video for the first single, 'Vigilante Man, which you can watch above. The album is available for pre-order now.

Michael Schenker's 'Spirit on a Mission' Track Listing
'Live and Let Live'
'Vigilante Man'
'Rock City'
'Saviour Machine'
'Something of the Night'
'All Our Yesterdays'
'Let the Devil Scream'
'Good Times'
'Restless Heart'

More From Ultimate Classic Rock