Brian Wilson is summing up the past several decades of his solo career with a new retrospective compilation that rounds out its track listing with a pair of previously unreleased recordings.

Playback: The Brian Wilson Anthology, due out Sept. 22 and available to pre-order now, offers an 18-song overview of the Beach Boys co-founder's solo efforts, starting with 1988's "Love and Mercy" and continuing through "Run James Run," a new song recorded for this compilation.

In addition to a selection of studio tracks, Playback includes "The First Time" and "This Isn't Love" from Wilson's 2000 Live at the Roxy LP. Another previously unreleased cut, "Some Sweet Day," was originally recorded for an ultimately shelved project Wilson worked on with Andy Paley throughout the '90s.

Wilson remains on the road for much of the remainder of the year on a recently extended tour in honor of the Beach Boys' classic Pet Sounds LP's 50th anniversary — dates he's said will mark the final times he'll play the album in its entirety. His most recent solo effort, No Pier Pressure, was released in 2015.

Brian Wilson, 'Playback: The Brian Wilson Anthology' Track Listing
“Love And Mercy”
“Surf’s Up”
“Heroes and Villains”
“Melt Away”
“Let It Shine”
“Some Sweet Day”
“Rio Grande”
“Lay Down Burden”
“The First Time” (Live At The Roxy Theatre)
“This Isn’t Love” (Live At The Roxy Theatre)
“Soul Searchin'”
“Gettin’ in Over My Head”
“The Like in I Love You”
“Midnight’s Another Day”
“Colors of the Wind”
“One Kind of Love”
“Run James Run”

The Top 100 Rock Albums of the ’60s

More From Ultimate Classic Rock