Alice in Chains' cover of Rush's "Tears" has made its way online ahead of its official release as part of the upcoming 40th anniversary reissue of Rush's classic 2112 LP.

The song, which you can hear above, is one of several new recordings of 2112 tracks contributed by the band's peers; as previously reported, the Foo Fighters' version of "2112 Overture" is part of the track listing, as well as cuts by Ontario rockers Billy Talent and producer/Porcupine Tree vet Steven Wilson.

The 40th anniversary 2112 reissue is due in stores Dec. 16 and available to pre-order now in a number of configurations, including a triple-vinyl edition, a two-CD/DVD package and a "super deluxe" version that combines those two while adding an assortment of non-musical collectible goodies.

Check out the complete track listing below.

Disc One: Original album remastered
"2112" (Overture / The Temples of Syrinx / Discovery / Presentation / Oracle: The Dream / Soliloquy / Grand Finale)
"A Passage to Bangkok"
"The Twilight Zone"
"Something for Nothing"

Disc Two
"Solar Federation"
"Overture" (Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz)
"A Passage to Bangkok" (Billy Talent)
"The Twilight Zone" (Steven Wilson)
"Tears" (Alice in Chains)
"Something for Nothing" (Jacob Moon)
"2112" (live at Massey Hall, 1976 outtake)
"Something for Nothing (live at Massey Hall, 1976 outtake)
"The Twilight Zone" (live 1977 contraband)
"2112" (1976 Radio ad)

Disc Three (DVD): Live at the Capitol Theatre 1976
"Bastille Day"
"Lakeside Park"
"Fly by Night"
"In the Mood"
bonus videos:
"Overture" (Dave Grohl, Taylor Hawkins and Nick Raskulinecz)
"A Passage to Bangkok" (behind the scenes with Billy Talent)
"2112: 40 Years Closer" (Q&A with Alex Lifeson and Terry Brown)

Rush Albums Ranked Worst to Best

More From Ultimate Classic Rock