Progressive metallers Dream Theater are releasing more details about their greatly-anticipated new album, which will be their first with new drummer Mike Mangini (Steve Vai, Annihilator, Extreme) in toe. ‘A Dramatic Turn of Events’ will drop Sept. 13 via Roadrunner Records and be supported by a yet-to-be-announced world tour.

It's a big Dream Theater day here at Ultimate Classic Rock, as we also just posted our exclusive interview with their guitarist, John Petrucci.  He talks about the influence classic rockers such as Rush and Yes had on the band, among many other topics.

With Mike Portnoy leaving Dream Theater last September to drum with Avenged Sevenfold, the past year has proved challenging for the group. But in the end, vocalist James LaBrie says the struggle made Dream Theater stronger.

“In the grand scheme of Dream Theater's career, the last several months have been such an incredibly positive, fulfilling and rewarding experience,” LaBrie said in a release. “The new songs and sound has never been so spirited or rejuvenating. I cannot wait for every one of our fans to sink their audio senses into this batch of tunes.”

“I'm incredibly psyched with the way this album came out and can't wait to share it with everybody,” added Petrucci. “We are currently in the mix stage with the great Andy Wallace, and it's all sounding amazing!”

Dream Theater, ‘A Dramatic Turn of Events’ track listing:

1. On the Backs of Angels
2. Build Me Up, Break Me Down
3. Lost Not Forgotten
4. This is the Life
5. The Shaman’s Trance
6. Outcry
7. Far From Heaven
8. Breaking All Illusions
9. Beneath The Surface

Watch Dream Theater Perform 'Pull Me Under'