California Breed, the new band featuring Glenn Hughes and Jason Bonham which grew out of the ashes of Black Country Communion, has announced the release date, cover art and track list for its debut album.

Hughes (Deep Purple, Black Sabbath) and Bonham (Led Zeppelin, Heart, Foreigner) are joined by newcomer Andrew Watt, a 23-year-old singer-songwriter-guitarist, in California Breed.

"It's proper rock," Hughes said via press release. "But at the same time it's very now. I live in the moment, California Breed is where I live, breathe and where my freak flag flies."

Their self-titled debut, produced by Dave Cobb at his Nashville studio, is set for release on May 19, 2014 via Frontiers Records. All three band members contributed to the album's dozen songs. The deluxe edition contains an extra track, 'Solo' and a DVD with video clips for 'The Way' and 'Sweet Tea' plus a documentary on the formation of California Breed.

“The energy when I walked in the room was crackling,”  Bonham said last month. “I was so pleased. Glenn and I had not only really locked in as a rhythm section in BCC, but we’d started writing together, and we both really wanted to keep that good feeling going.”

'California Breed' Track Listing

1. 'The Way'
2. 'Sweet Tea'
3. 'Chemical Rain'
4. 'Midnight Oil'
5. 'All Falls Down'
6. 'The Grey'
7. 'Days They Come'
8. 'Spit You Out'
9. 'Strong'
10. 'Invisible'
11. 'Scars'
12. 'Breathe'
13. 'Solo'*

* Deluxe edition bonus track

More From Ultimate Classic Rock