On March 10, Uli Jon Roth, who served as the Scorpions’ lead guitarist from 1973-78, will release ‘Scorpions Revisted,’ a 19-track set of newly recorded versions of songs that he first cut with his former band. You can listen to his take on ‘Catch Your Train’ above.

“The material for this double CD was recorded last year in the same hall in Hanover that we used for the Scorpions rehearsals 1973-1978,” Roth said in a press release. “Together with an amazing bunch of very talented young musicians, I revisited my personal favorites from the early Scorpions period, some of which were written in that same hall. It was an emotional few days and I am very pleased with the results in more ways than one. The idea was to stay truthful to the original spirit of the music, while also putting a new slant on it whenever it felt like the right thing to do. I feel we really succeeded in this and I’m very excited about this project. It was a intense journey into the past and I think we really managed to bring the songs back to life with a vengeance.”

Roth is currently touring the U.S. and has dates booked worldwide through September. For complete information, check his website.

‘Scorpions Revisited’ comes at a time when his original band are prepping a return of their own. On Feb. 20, the Scorpions will release ‘Return to Forever,’ to celebrate their 50th anniversary

‘Scorpions Revisited’ Track Listing

Disc One
1. ‘The Sails of Charon’
2. ‘Longing for Fire’
3. ‘Crying Days’
4. ‘Virgin Killer’
5. ‘In Trance’
6. ‘Sun In My Hand’
7. ‘Yellow Raven’
8. ‘Polar Nights’
9. ‘Dark Lady’

Disc Two
1. ‘Catch Your Train’
2. ‘Evening Wind’
3. ‘All Night Long’
4. ‘We'll Burn in the Sky’
5. ‘Pictured Life’
6. ‘Hell Cat’
7. ‘Life's Like a River’
8. ‘Drifting Sun’
9. ‘Rainbow Dream Prelude’
10. ‘Fly to the Rainbow’

The 10 Worst Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Snubs

More From Ultimate Classic Rock