Sammy Hagar has invited nearly a dozen friends, current and former bandmates to join him on 'Sammy Hagar and Friends,' his new studio album due in stores Sept. 24. Kid Rock, Journey's Neal Schon, Chickenfoot's Chad Smith and Joe Satriani and members of Montrose are amongst the stars announced this morning.

Hagar has written at least five new songs to go along with covers of classics like Bob Seger's 'Ramblin' Gamblin' Man' and Depeche Mode's 'Personal Jesus.' A complete track-listing and list of collaboraters was not announced today, but confirmed are new songs called 'Knockdown Dragout" (with Kid Rock), 'Bad on Fords and Chevrolets' (with Ronnie Dunn), 'All We Need is an Island' (with Nancy Wilson), 'Father Sun' (with his son Aaron) and 'Going Down' (with Schon, Smith and Michael Anthony).

Previously Hagar had said he set out to do an anthology to commemorate his four decades in rock. In fact, he'll begin the Four Decades of Rock Tour on July 26.

"I start going, and these songs turned out so good, I said, ‘I’m gonna make a record.’ I kept writing and asking friends to write with me, and I had a bunch of friends who came out and wrote and sang with me.”

'Sammy Hagar and Friends' is the former Van Halen singer's first solo album since 2008. It will be released on Frontiers Records.

More From Ultimate Classic Rock