Contact Us

Twisted Sister to Release ‘Metal Meltdown’ CD-DVD/Blu-ray

Subscribe to Ultimate Classic Rock on

July 22 will see the release of Metal Meltdown, a live CD-DVD/Blu-ray by Twisted Sister that was filmed last year during their concert at the Joint in the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas. You can watch the trailer above.

The 90-minute set was the first show they performed after the March 2015 death of founding drummer A.J. Pero. The band, who brought in Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, Winery Dogs) to play drums, dedicated the night to him and showed a video of him playing a drum solo on the video screen. In a press release, guitarist Jay Jay French explained that Portnoy helped them heal from the shock of the loss of their longtime bandmate.

“In the end, I believe we did what A.J. would have wanted us to do and Mike Portnoy was a very big part of that decision in both an emotional and artistic way. This performance captured herein just two months after A.J.’s death really was about our way to help memorialize the great A.J. Pero. The front four (Dee [Snider], Eddie [Ojeda], Mark [Mendoza] and I) have had no one but A.J. behind us since 1982. This concert has A.J.’s influence permeating through our bloodstream in ways that I will never forget and when we cut to A.J.’s drum solo on the rear projection screen, We were all emotionally overwhelmed. Not since our reunion for NY Steel in 2001 (to honor and raise money for the families of the NYC police and fire department who died on 9/11) have I been moved to tears.”

The DVD/Blu-ray comes with a bonus documentary, Rockshow, that looks at the history of the band through exclusive interviews and archival footage. Joining Twisted Sister on the bill that night were Extreme, Great White and Skid Row. There are plans in the works to release their sets at a future date.

Twisted Sister, ‘Metal Meltdown’ Track Listing

1. “What You Don’t Know”
2. “The Kids Are Back”
3. Stay Hungry
4. “The Beast”
5. “Shoot ‘Em Down”
6. “You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll”
7. “I Believe In Rock ‘N’ Roll”
8. “Under the Blade”
9. “I Am (I’m Me)”
10. “We’re Not Gonna Take It”
11. “The Fire Still Burns”
12. “The Price”
13. “Burn in Hell”
14. “A.J. Pero Tribute”
15. “I Wanna Rock”
16. “Come Out and Play”
17. “S.M.F.”

See Twisted Sister and Other Rockers in the Top 100 Albums of the ’80s

Next: Top 10 Twisted Sister Songs

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Ultimate Classic Rock

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Ultimate Classic Rock quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!