Contact Us

Tony Iommi and Ian Gillan Reveal WhoCares Debut Album Tracklist

Tony Iommi and Ian Gillan
Paul Kane / Jo Hale, Getty Images

It turns out that the pairing of Deep Purple’s Ian Gillan and Black Sabbath‘s Tony Iommi for the WhoCares single, ‘Out of My Mind,’ was not just a one-off project.

The two musicians have been working together to complete a full-length album, and they invited friends like Glenn Hughes, Jason Newsted, Jon Lord, Linde Lindestrom, Ian Paice, Roger Glover, Nicko McBrain, Dr. John and the late Ronnie James Dio along for the ride. Blabbermouth reports that after a wealth of jamming, they emerged with not just one, but two discs that will be paired together for release.

Gillan and Iommi started the project as a way to raise funds for rebuilding a music school in Gyumari, Armenia, a place that both musicians have visited and felt the desire to aid in its recovery.

As the pair started to jam, they revisited a few past pieces. Gillan told, “Some of these pieces never really fitted into their contemporary program and got sidelined or forgotten and some of the album tracks never had much exposure. As the track listing for this album came together, I noticed many of the titles had character similarities – a combination of freshness as they finally felt the sun on their backs and rebellion in a ‘yeah, told you so’ kind of way. And that adds up to a wonderful time. And that adds up to more money for the music school we are building in Armenia.”

The WhoCares album arrives July 13 via earMUSIC.

‘WhoCares’ Track Listing:

Disc 1
1. ‘Out of My Mind’
2. ‘Zero the Hero’
3. ‘Trashed’
4. ‘Get Away’
5. ‘Slip Away’
6. ‘Don’t Hold Me Back’
7. ‘She Thinks It’s a Crime’
8. ”Easy Come Easy Go’
9. ‘Smoke on the Water’

Disc 2
1. ‘Holy Water’
2. ‘Anno Munde’
3. ‘Let it Down Easy’
4. ‘Hole in My Vest’
5. ‘Can’t Believe You Wanna Leave Me’
6. ‘Can I Get a Witness’
7. ‘No Laughing in Heaven’
8. ‘When a Blind Man Cries’
9. ‘Dick Pimple’

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Ultimate Classic Rock

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Ultimate Classic Rock quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!