Contact Us

Raspberries Announce Release of 2004 Reunion Show, Unveil ‘Overnight Sensation': Exclusive Premiere

Subscribe to Ultimate Classic Rock on

Thirty years after they called it a day, power-pop legends the Raspberries reunited for a special concert in their hometown of Cleveland.

That show will be available for the first time on Aug. 18, when it’s released as the two-CD set Pop Art Live. The live album will also be available as a download, with a special-edition three-LP set coming later in the year.

Pop Art Live captures the show from Nov. 26, 2004, when the Raspberries played Cleveland’s House of Blues for a reunion set. Initially proposed as a onetime concert, fan enthusiasm led to a successful reunion tour the following year.

You can listen to “Overnight Sensation (Hit Record),” an exclusive premiere, from the upcoming album below.

Founding members Eric Carmen, Wally Bryson, David Smalley and Jim Bonfanti blast through a 28-song set that includes fan favorites like “Go All the Way,” “I Wanna Be With You”  and “Let’s Pretend.” They also unearth deep cuts “Hard to Get Over a Heartbreak,” “I’m a Rocker” and “Ecstacy,” as well as a few choice covers (by the Beatles and the Who). The set also includes “It’s Cold Outside,” originally recorded by the Choir, the band’s pre-Raspberries group without Carmen.

You can watch a trailer for the album above.

Pop Art Live features words by Cameron Crowe — who says he loved the group from the first time he heard them: “The kick in the band’s attack, and the pop majesty of Eric Carmen’s vocals made me a lifelong fan” — and various recollections on the Raspberries’ history and the 2004 show.

Raspberries, ‘Pop Art Live’ Track Listing
1. I Wanna Be With You
2. Play On
3. I Can’t Explain
4. Nobody Knows
5. Let’s Pretend
6. Don’t Wanna Say Goodbye
7. Party’s Over
8. Overnight Sensation (Hit Record)
9. Might As Well
10. It Seemed So Easy
11. Baby’s In Black
12. If You Change Your Mind
13. Tonight
14. I Can Remember

1. Starting Over
2. Last Dance
3. I Saw The Light
4. No Reply
5. When You Were With Me
6. It’s Cold Outside
7. Should I Wait
8. Come Around And See Me
9. Makin’ It Easy
10. Ticket To Ride
11. Hard To Get Over A Heartbreak
12. Ecstacy
13. I’m A Rocker
14. Go All The Way

Raspberries Albums Ranked Worst to Best

Next: Top 10 Raspberries Songs

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Ultimate Classic Rock

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Ultimate Classic Rock quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!