Contact Us

Motorhead Announce ‘Under Cover’ Compilation Featuring Previously Unreleased Version of David Bowie’s ‘Heroes’

Mark Mainz / Daniel Boczarski, Getty Images
Mark Mainz / Daniel Boczarski, Getty Images

Motörhead will collect some of their previously released cover songs, as well as one previously unreleased track, for a new compilation called Under Cöver.

In addition to songs originally made famous by Judas Priest, Ted Nugent and the Rolling StonesUnder Cöver — which is due on Sept. 1 — will include a previously unheard version of David Bowie‘s “Heroes” the band recorded in 2015, the same year Motörhead frontman Lemmy Kilmister died of cancer.

You can see the album’s track listing, as well the songs’ producers and original release years, below.

The 11-track compilation stretches back to 1992, for a cover of Nugent’s “Cat Scratch Fever,” and goes all the way up to 2015, with a version of the Stones’ “Sympathy for the Devil” that was included on the band’s album that year, Bad Magic, which was released four months before Lemmy’s death. The cover of “Heroes” comes from the sessions for that final LP.

The record also includes covers of songs by Metallica (“Whiplash”), Ramones (“Rockaway Beach”) and the Sex Pistols (“God Save the Queen”) that the band recorded in the ’00s.

Under Cöver will be available as a CD, on 180-gram vinyl, as a Super Deluxe box set (which includes the CD, vinyl and a VIP guest pass) and as a digital download.

Lemmy’s first solo album may also be released sometime this year.

Motörhead, ‘Under Cöver’ Track listing
1. “Breaking the Law” (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2008
2. “God Save the Queen” (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2000
3. “Heroes” (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
4. “Starstruck” (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2014
5. “Cat Scratch Fever” (Produced by Peter Solley) 1992
6. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
7. “Sympathy for the Devil” (Produced by Cameron Webb) 2015
8. “Hellraiser” (Produced by Billy Sherwood) 1992
9. “Rockaway Beach” (Mixed by Cameron Webb) 2002
10. “Shoot ‘Em Down” (Produced by Bob Kulick and Bruce Bouillet) 2001
11. “Whiplash” (Produced by Bruce Bouillet and Bob Kulick) 2005

30 Historic Moments from Lemmy’s Life

Next: Top 10 Motorhead Songs

Recommended For You

Around the Web

Best of Ultimate Classic Rock

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Ultimate Classic Rock quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!